Australia Day Ambassadors

The Australia Day Ambassador Program aims to capture the true spirit of Australia Day by connecting high achieving Queenslanders to communities across the state to support the celebration of this important national day.

Australia Day Ambassadors include past recipients of the Australian of the Year Awards, talented athletes, medical professionals, business leaders, media personalities and community workers who provide inspiration and pride to Australia Day events.

This year, the Australia Day Ambassador Program was delivered virtually, to ensure the best outcomes for public health and social wellbeing. 

Participating Ambassadors and councils are listed below.

Australia Day is a time for all Australians to reflect, respect and celebrate. Please take a moment to listen to the inspiring messages from some of our Ambassadors.

Participating councils

  • Balonne Shire Council
  • Burdekin Shire Council
  • Charters Towers Regional Council
  • Cloncurry Shire Council
  • Cook Shire Council
  • Flinders Shire Council
  • Isaac Regional Council
  • Lockyer Valley Regional Council
  • McKinlay Shire Council
  • Moreton Bay Regional Council
  • Mount Isa City Council
  • North Burnett Regional Council
  • Paroo Shire Council
  • Rockhampton Regional Council
  • Somerset Regional Council
  • South Burnett Regional Council
  • Toowoomba Regional Council
  • Western Downs Regional Council
  • Winton Shire Council

Participating Ambassadors

Alison Alexander OAM

Dr Sharon Boyce

Elijah Buol OAM

Justine Christerson

Distinguished Professor James Dale AO

Emeritus Professor Kenneth Donald AO

Dr Dimity Dornan AO and Peter Dornan AM

Vanessa Fowler OAM

Olivia Hargroder

Gitie House OAM

Selena Gomersall

Natasha Johnston

Gail Ker OAM

John Lazarou

Professor Peter Leggat AM

Assistant Professor Nick Marshall

Dr Robert (Bob) McGregor

Melissa McGuiness

Alastair McLeod

Bruce Morcombe OAM and Denise Morcombe OAM

Dr Dinesh Palipana OAM

Lakeisha Patterson OAM

Scott Stidston OAM

Emeritus Professor Roland Sussex OAM

Selina Tomasich

Rachael Walsh

Professor David Whiteman AM