As part of the Year of Outback Tourism, the Queensland Government launched the $3 million Year of Outback Tourism Events Program.

In 2019 and 2020, grants were available for new events or to extend existing events, which contribute to enhancing the profile of Outback Queensland and attract new or increase the number of visitors.

Event and festival promoters, local governments, community organisations and local businesses were invited to apply and help grow tourism in their local communities.

The events funded through the Year of Outback Tourism Events Program have been announced by the Premier, collectively amounting to more than $2.2 million in funding. Discover these events, including those to be delivered in 2021.

In Queensland, 2019 was the Year of Outback Tourism and the celebrations continue in 2021. This Queensland Government initiative reinforces the state’s position as a world-leading tourism destination and supports economic, social and cultural growth in Outback Queensland.

This is an opportune time for outback communities. Each year, more and more tourists are discovering the fun and far-flung events and festivals of regional Queensland. In 2019, the region welcomed more than one million visitors—the first time this significant milestone has been achieved.

The Year of Outback Tourism will see these numbers continue to grow in years to come and create sustainable jobs for people in the outback.

Outback Tourism Infrastructure Fund

The $10 million Outback Tourism Infrastructure Fund will help establish much needed tourism infrastructure in Outback Queensland. Fifteen projects have been awarded funding—from Adels Grove and Cobbold Gorge in the north, all the way down to Roma and Cunnamulla in the south.

Find out more about the Outback Tourism Infrastructure Fund.

Outback events and experiences

Visit Tourism and Events Queensland for more information on events and experiences in Outback Queensland.

More information about Outback Queensland

The Year of Indigenous Tourism

In November 2019, Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk declared 2020 the Year of Indigenous Tourism (YOIT), and due to the impacts of COVID-19, it has been extended into 2021.

The YOIT is supported by a $10 million commitment from the Queensland Government to create tourism jobs for Indigenous Queenslanders and to position the state as the nation’s leader in Indigenous tourism.

Outback Queensland is defined as the event host location within the Local Government Areas of: Balonne Shire Council, Banana Shire Council, Barcaldine Regional Council, Barcoo Shire Council, Blackall–Tambo Regional Council, Boulia Shire Council, Bulloo Shire Council, Burke Shire Council, Carpentaria Shire Council, Central Highlands Regional Council, Cloncurry Shire Council, Croydon Shire Council, Diamantina Shire Council, Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council, Etheridge Shire Council, Flinders Shire Council, Longreach Regional Council, Maranoa Regional Council, McKinlay Shire Council, Mornington Shire Council, Mount Isa City Council, Murweh Shire Council, Paroo Shire Council, Quilpie Shire Council, Richmond Shire Council, Winton Shire Council, Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council.

Click to enlarge

The following organisations were eligible to apply:

  • local councils operating in Outback Queensland
  • Regional Tourism Organisations
  • event managers and/or event promoters
  • incorporated associations or bodies
  • corporations including those operating on a not-for-profit basis
  • community and festival organisations.

For the purposes of this program, Outback Queensland is defined as comprising 27 local government areas:

  • Balonne Shire Council
  • Banana Shire Council
  • Barcaldine Regional Council
  • Barcoo Shire Council
  • Blackall–Tambo Regional Council
  • Boulia Shire Council
  • Bulloo Shire Council
  • Burke Shire Council
  • Carpentaria Shire Council
  • Central Highlands Regional Council
  • Cloncurry Shire Council
  • Croydon Shire Council
  • Diamantina Shire Council
  • Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Etheridge Shire Council
  • Flinders Shire Council
  • Longreach Regional Council
  • Maranoa Regional Council
  • McKinlay Shire Council
  • Mornington Shire Council
  • Mount Isa City Council
  • Murweh Shire Council
  • Paroo Shire Council
  • Quilpie Shire Council
  • Richmond Shire Council
  • Winton Shire Council
  • Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council.

View a map of the above Local Government Areas.

More than $2.2 million was awarded to 54 festivals, sporting events, cultural experiences and more across Outback Queensland.

Discover these events.

Please check individual websites for any updates regarding the status of events.

For any queries, please contact Events and Engagement, Department of the Premier and Cabinet on telephone (07) 3003 9200.